Basic Black Bean Soup

This week my son is on Spring Break. When he doesn’t come home for dinner after lacrosse practice, I find it hard to motivate myself to cook a healthy dinner for two. On the other hand, with my Cherry Blossom 10 Miler coming up, I  can’t afford a week of greasy take-out or grazing from the snacks in the pantry.

This recipe from Real Simple magazine is quick and nutritious, and one I can’t make when my son is eating with us because he demands meat with every meal. Undecided

Basic Black Bean Soup 

2 cans black beans, rinsed and drained
1 can (about 2 cups) low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
1 cup fresh salsa
squeeze of fresh lime juice

    • spray medium-sized pot with cooking spray
    • heat salsa over medium heat for a few minutes, until heated through but not dry
    • add broth and beans, stir, and bring to boil
    • reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally

 

    • carefully transfer soup to a blender or use an immersion blender to puree
    • ladle into bowls and add a squeeze of lime juice
    • top with a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt


Serve with crusty bread or–my favorite–Jiffy cornbread muffins. Laughing


Do you have a hard time cooking when it’s just for you?

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Basic Black Bean Soup

  1. runwiki says:

    Yum! The black bean soup looks awesome. I am always looking for ways to incorporate black beans into my diet, because I have a magnesium deficiency and they are loaded. 🙂

  2. BalancingB says:

    I have been looking for a good black bean soup recipe – I can’t wait to try this one! Does it matter the type of salsa?

    • Coco says:

      I think it’s best if you use the fresh kind – in the refrigerator case or deli or salad section – instead of the kind in a jar. If you pick spicy or mild, that will just impact the flavor of your soup.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. Yes. I have a hard time cooking period! But I tend to eat healthier if I cook. Not to mention I then will have leftovers and often freeze portions for when I don’t want to cook:)

I'd love to know what you think!